Q&A With Children’s Author Maria Matthews

I was delighted and honored to be given this chance by Shana. Thank you, Shana.

Rosco's Reading Room

Please welcome Maria Matthews, Irish author of the delightful chapter book, The Runaway Schoolhouse, to the Reading Room today.

Q. Welcome, Maria! Please tell us a little bit about yourself and your books.

A. I live north of Dublin city, Ireland, in a rural village. Like every other writer, I grew up reading and loved to daydream. It wasn’t until my children were grown that I had the time and confidence to begin writing. I began by submitting short stories to magazines and was successful, having stories published in women’s magazines, and being runner up in a short story competition.

Nanowrimo encouraged me to try writing longer works and for the past four years November has been a no housework month, as writing consumes me. Becoming unemployed was a boost to my writing time, but to live, we need to work so I work twenty hours a week.

I was…

View original post 719 more words

Leave a Reply

