A puzzle lands in the field beside Mudpile Wood

Breeze was dreaming of butterfly – cakes.  All of his dreams lately were filled with cakes of one type or another.

His dream about Hasty fairy Cakes was so frightening he hadn’t told asked anyone about it, yet. He decided to forget about it and perhaps some day ask for advice.

His nap time was interrupted by a very high bossy voice saying. “I told you to pack cucumber sandwiches.”

Breeze pulled a yucky face. He hated cucumber and the idea of sandwishes with just cucumber in them was not nice.

The woman who spoke looked very un-happy. He wondered if Tulip could wave her wand and make the lady look a little happier.

Then he heard another voice say, “But last week you scolded me because I brought cucumber sandwiches.” The second lady looked much nicer, she looked like a lady who smiled a lot.  She was taking out a cup and saucer and laying them on the ground.

“Why is she doing that?” Breeze whispered. But there was no one to answer him. “And what are they doing? ”

Breeze scratched his head and decided this was one question too many. He slid down the tree and went to ask Tulip for advice.

“Maybe they are having a picnic.” Tulip said.

“What is a picknicky?” Breeze asked.

“Not picknicky a picnic. It is when you have tea and sandwishes outside.” Tulip told him.

“Maybe we should have one.” Breeze suggested.

“We do that every day. Show me where they are.”

Breeze brought Tulip to the field. He spent a long time looking under briars, giant strawberry leaves but he didn’t find them.

Tulip smiled and said, “You were dreaming there was no strange women.”

“If I could draw I would draw them for you.”

Tulip flicked her wand and handed him a giant piece of paper and a pencil.

She decided to have a nap.

When Breeze woke her he showed her his drawings.

Lady 1

 

lady 2a

 

 

“They look real. But why can I see two of them on one sheet of paper?” Tulip asked.

Breeze’s face went very red.

“I made a mess of the first sheet and drew one on each side.”

“They are very strange women. I think they are ghosts.” Tulip said. She turned around to see Breeze running to his cave.

She shouted to him. “Where are you going?”

“Home. I have enough trouble with witches. I don’t need two ghosts to mess up my nap time as well.”

Tulip watched him run and thought, for an ogre he is very fast on his feet. Then she decided she might as well go home as well.  “Perhaps I will give them to someone to color in.”

 

 

Leave a comment